Designing Women History

Originally presented in 2000 as Designing Hollywood, this annual spring event celebrates the extraordinary talent of costume designers, makeup artists and hair stylists. Awards are presented by well-known people in the field. Past honorees and presenters include:

2006 honoree Lyndell Quiyou and presenter Julia Roberts

Costume Designer: Dana Covarrubias
Hair Stylist: Anita Lausevic
Makeup Artist: Martha Melendez
Variety Ensemble Award: Mozart in the Jungle
Presenters: Christine Ebersole, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Nia Long and Debra Monk.
Mark Feuerstein, Elizabeth McGovern and Lena Waithe appeared via video.
Emcee: Sunda Croonquist
See highlights from Designing Women 2018.

Costume Designer: Melissa Toth
Hair Stylist: Melissa Forney
Makeup Artist: Kyra Panchenko
Variety Ensemble Award: Jessica Jones
Presenters: Amy Schumer, David Costabile, Carmen Ejogo and Rosario Dawson. Krysten Ritter appeared via video.
Emcee: Sasheer Zamata
See highlights from Designing Women 2017.


Costume Designer: Sarah Edwards
Hair Stylist: Rose Chatterton
Makeup Artist: Anita Gibson
Variety Ensemble Award: The Affair
Presenters: Will Arnett, Ray Liotta, Lela Loren, Maura Tierney
Emcee: Jessica Kirson
See highlights from Designing Women 2016.


Costume Designer: Ann Roth
Hair Stylist: Francesca Paris
Makeup Artist: Beverly Jo Pryor
Variety Ensemble Award: Orange is the New Black
Awards presented by: Hannah Sorkin, Susan Wright, Gretchen Mol, Kate Mulgrew, Uzo Aduba, Barbara Rosenblat
Emcee: Lea DeLaria
See highlights from Designing Women 2015.

Costume Designer: Renée Ehrlich Kalfus
Hair Stylist: Kerrie Smith
Makeup Artist: Evelyne Noraz
Variety Ensemble Award: The Angriest Man in Brooklyn
Awards presented by: Jessica Alba, Rose Byrne, Denis Leary
Emcee: Michelle Williams

Costume Designer: Deborah Scott
Hair Stylist: Mandy Lyons
Makeup Artist: Andrea Miller
Variety Ensemble Award: The Americans
Awards presented by: Norah Jones, Jon Landau, Julianna Margulies, Richard Thomas

Costume Designer: Kasia Walicka Maimone
Hair Stylist: Amanda Miller
Makeup Artist: Jenn Jorge Nelson
Variety Ensemble Award: Boardwalk Empire
Awards presented by: Harvey Keitel, Bennett Miller, Lady Rizo, Tina Fey, Steve Buscemi
Emcee: Kristen Schaal

Costume Designer: Janie Bryant
Hair Stylist: Diana Sikes
Makeup Artist: Linda Melazzo
Awards presented by: Glenn Close, John Slattery, Anna Deavere Smith

Costume Designer: Susan Lyall
Hair Stylist: Suzy Mazzarese-Allison
Makeup Artist: Marjorie Durand
Variety Ensemble Award: Sex and the City 2
Awards presented by: Christine Baranski, Phylicia Rashad, Jodie Foster, Cynthia Nixon

Costume Designer: Donna Zakowska
Hair Stylist: Jennifer Johnson
Makeup Artist: Marianne Skiba
Awards presented by: Blake Lively, John Turturro, Sam Watson

Costume Designer: Catherine Marie Thomas
Hair Stylist: Coleen Callaghan
Makeup Artist: Patricia Regan
Awards presented by:  Edward Burns, Bebe Neuwirth, Michele Marsh

Costume Designer: Sharen Davis
Hair Stylist: Michelle Johnson
Makeup Artist: Toy Russell Van Lierop

Costume Designer: Ellen Lutter
Hair Stylist: Lyndell Quiyou
Makeup Artist: Nicki Ledermann
Awards presented by: Tom DiCillo, Gretchen Mol, Julia Roberts

Costume Designer: Hope Hanafin
Costume Designer: Julie Weiss
Makeup Artist: Carla White
Awards presented by: Stockard Channing, Cynthia Nixon, S. Epatha Merkerson

Costume Designer: Margarita Delgado
Costume Designer: Aude Bronson-Howard
Makeup Artist: Naomi Donne

Colleen Atwood
Judy Chin
Jennifer von Mayrhauser

Michal Bigger
Ruth Carter
Juliet Polsca

Bernadette Mazur
Carol Oditz
Yana Syrkin

Patricia Field
Rita Ryack
Rebecca Weinstein