NYWIFT Members Nominated for 2023 Independent Spirit Awards

Hosted by Hasan Minhaj, the 2023 Film Independent Spirit Awards will stream live on Saturday, March 4 at 2 p.m. PST and be accessible to viewers through IMDB’s YouTube channel and other social media platforms, including Film Independent’s YouTube channel.    

Click here to view the complete list of this year’s nominees.  

Learn more about the Independent Spirit Awards.

The Film Independent Spirit Awards is the premier awards event for the independent film and television community.  Each year, the Spirit Awards ceremony unites top talent from throughout the world of film and television. In addition to traditional categories such as Best Feature and Best Director, the Spirit Awards features a number of unique honors such as Best First Screenplay and the John Cassavetes Award (best feature under $1,000,000).

In 2021, the show introduced new categories celebrating outstanding television storytelling and performances and this year, two Best Breakthrough Performance categories make their debut.  This year marks the show’s 38th anniversary – closing in on the big 4-0! – and it remains as exciting and original as the films, series and filmmakers honored.

NYWIFT is proud to celebrate nine of the organization’s members (including Indie Spirit Award nominee Ellie Foumbi) whose involvement in the seven film and television series nominated in 2023 contributed to the success of these projects. Congrats to our members!

Best Documentary Feature

All The Beauty and the Bloodshed

 Executive Producer:  NYWIFT Member Hayley Theisen  

Best Feature

Our Father, The Devil 

 Director, Writer and Producer:  NYWIFT Member Ellie Foumbi (Indie Spirit Award Nominee)

Best Feature

Women Talking

 Location Manager:  NYWIFT Member Anne Richardson  

Best International Feature


 Producer:  NYWIFT Member Katharina Otto-Bernstein

           Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

Mind Over Murder

Cast Member/Actor:  NYWIFT Member Cara D’Adamo

         Best New Scripted Series


Supervising ADR Editor:  NYWIFT Member Deborah Wallach

 Best New Scripted Series


Stunt Driver:  NYWIFT Member Nitasha Bhambree

Casting Director:  NYWIFT Member Bess Fifer

Stunt Double (For Patricia Arquette):  NYWIFT Member Tina McKissick  

We wish the very best of luck to all of the amazingly talented women who participated in the development of all of the film and television series being recognized at this year’s Indie Spirits Awards! Congratulations to all, again!

The 38th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards show will air on Saturday on March 4 at 2 p.m. PST.  Audiences will be able to watch the event through IMDB’s YouTube channel and Film Independent’s YouTube channel, among other platforms.    

See the full list of nominees.